Tick-Tock, No O’Clock

According to the professionals, autism is defined by two problems:

  • deficits in social interaction and communication
  • restricted and repetitive behaviors

Through behavioral modifications, these two problems are to be solved.

First, the restricted and repetitive behaviors are to be extinguished, so the autistic child does not act so autistic all the time. Second, the deficits in social interaction and communication are to be corrected by enforcing the correct social and communicative behaviors, so the autistic child acts more typical more of the time, as more as possible.

The poor autistic child, let us help her by making her act more like us, regardless of what is going on inside her head to make her act not quite like us to beborn with.

Here is my definition of autism:

  • no typical cognition, so no typical behaviors, duh
  • autistic cognition, so autistic behaviors, duh

From my perspective, what the professionals are doing through their behavioral modifications are these:

  • extinguishing autistic behaviors, a.k.a. getting rid of who I am without giving a shit what that is
  • enforcing typical behaviors, a.k.a. making me who I’m not without giving a shit who I am

I am against these behavioral modifications.

I am against modifying behaviors without regard for cognition.

I am against enforcing unnatural typical behaviors, most of which are completely meaningless to the children made to do them, regardless of what is going on inside their heads while they are faking their acts.

I am against extinguishing natural autistic behaviors, most of which are extremely enjoyable to the children made to stop them, regardless of what is going on inside their heads while they are being tortured.

When I was a child, I had very few typical behaviors and very many autistic behaviors. I had no socialization and little communication, and I was the walking no-talking definition of stereotypy. I was a classic case of classic autism, and I suffered from none of my natural autistic behaviors or cognition.

Instead, I enjoyed them.

I enjoyed not socializing and not communicating, because I was happy in my own world. I felt no need to socialize or communicate, and I neither knew what these were or missed them.

I enjoyed my restricted and repetitive behaviors, because I was happy stimming all day everyday, following the same routines 4evar and evar and evar, performing the same rituals 4evar and evar and evar, arranging the same objects for hours and hours a day, studying the same subjects for hours and hours a day, thinking and learning all the while, and not socializing or communicating while I was happy in my own world.

Everyday was like clockwork, Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

My days were like a metronome, Tick-Tock, No O’Clock.

As an autistic child, I didn’t suffer from autism, because I enjoyed every minute of it.

Now, I still don’t, because I still do.

I still enjoy not socializing and not communicating, because I am still happy in my own world. Now, I know what these are, but I still don’t need or miss them.

I still enjoy my restricted and repetitive behaviors, because I am still happy stimming all day everyday, following the same routines 4evar and evar and evar, performing the same rituals 4evar and evar and evar, arranging objects for hours and hours a day, studying subjects for hours and hours a day, thinking and learning all the while, and not socializing or communicating while I am happy in my own world or the world at large.

While I spent most of my childhood being my happily autistic self in my own world, I spend most of my time now being my happily autistic self in the world at large. I balance the two worlds, the world inside and the world outside, and I am just like anyone else trying to make a good life and do good things, while being my happily autistic self.

From autism, I don’t suffer any more than anyone else suffers from being their normal hoooman selves, just as I am my normal hoooman self. I don’t suffer from my natural autistic behaviors or my natural autistic cognition. They are completely normal and natural to me, and I am always trying to make the best of them. I love my natural autistic behaviors and my natural autistic cognition, and I am always trying to make the best of them to make a good life and do good things.

Tick-Tock, No O’Clock.

Tick-Tock, No O’Clock.

Tick-Tock, No O’Clock.

I don’t suffer from autism, because I enjoy every minute of life.

As you can see, I also enjoy baseball, which brings me to this:

But I still enjoy every minute of it!

Leave a Reply

