How Red And Blue Make Purple

I am a visual thinker, and when I read, I see pictures for words, which is pretty typical, but I also see words as pictures, which is pretty, but not typical.

When I read the word “red”, I see a picture of the color red, and I see the picture *red*.

When I read the word “blue”, I see a picture of the color blue, and I see the picture *blue*.

For most people, red and blue make purple, and the same is true for me, but not in the same way.

Here is how red and blue make purple for me:

Start with *red*, *blue*, and *purple*.

Match *u*, *r*, and *l* to *purple*.

Rotate *d* and *b* to look like *p* and *p*, and match *p* and *p* to *purple*.

Match *e* and *e* to *purple*.

Uh-Oh! Ruh-Roh! Duh-Doh!

No Match! No Match! No Match!

Red Alert! Blue Alert!

1 2 many *e*!

But what if we arrange the pictures this way, lining them up, stacking them, and looking at them from the top down?

Problem?

Solved!

In chemistry, this arrangement of pictures is a quantum mechanical system with discrete energy levels occupied by the electrons of atoms and molecules, but I like to think of it as how red and blue make purple.

One thought on “How Red And Blue Make Purple

Leave a Reply

